Perth Mint Australia

0 0

CHEKHOV Anton 150th Anniversary Silver Coin 1$ Tuvalu 2010


The second release from The Perth Mint’s Great Russian Minds series celebrates the 150th anniversary of the birth of Anton Chekhov, a giant of Russian literature who is regarded as the outstanding representative of the late 19th-century realist school. Great Russian Minds Serie celebrates five prominent Russians acclaimed worldwide for their outstanding achievement.

More details

Out of stock
Enter your email id. Once product back in stock you will be notify by email

69.95 €

We accept payment by:

Add to wishlist

Anton Pavlovich Chekhov was born in the small seaport of Taganrog, Ukraine on January 17th in the year 1860. He began writing as a means of supporting his family while he also studied to become a doctor.
Chekhov graduated from medical school in 1884 and he practiced medicine until 1892. While practicing medicine in 1886 he became a regular contributor to St. Petersburg daily Novoe vremya and it was during this time that he developed his style of the dispassionate, non-judgmental author.
He is most famously remembered for many great plays: The Seagull, Uncle Vanya, Three Sisters and The Cherry Orchard, as well as more than 600 short stories, many of which are considered masterpieces.
Today he is remembered as a playwright and one of the masters of the modern short story.
Though a celebrated figure by the Russian literary public at the time of his death, Chekhov remained rather unknown internationally until the years after World War I, when his works were translated into English. As a writer Chekhov was extremely fast, often producing a short story in an hour or less, overall during his career he authored several hundred stories. He didn't have as much success with his plays, the early ones were failures and it wasn't until The Seagull was revised in 1898 by Stanislavsky at the Moscow Art Theatre that he gained popularity as a playwright.

Originally designed for The Perth Mint’s main distributor in Russia, this series is being offered worldwide in response to significant indicative interest in Russian themes.
All coins in the series Great Russian Mind:

  • 2009 Gogol
  • 2010 Chekhov
  • 2010 Pirogov
  • 2010 Tolstoy
  • 2011 Lomonosov
  • CountryTuvalu
  • Year2010
  • Face Value1 Dollar
  • MetalSilver
  • Fineness (purity)999/1000
  • Weight (g)31.1 (1 oz)
  • Diameter (mm)40.6
  • QualityProof
  • Mintage (pcs)6.000
  • Certificate (COA)Yes
  • Presentation case (box)Yes
The coin’s reverse depicts a sepia-coloured image of the famous writer accompanied by the inscription "150th Anniversary Anton Chekhov 1860 – 2010". The reverse also portrays two seagulls denoting one of his famous dramas; the Moscow Arts Theatre, which staged The Seagull in 1898; and comedy and tragedy masks, universal symbols of theatre. The Perth Mint’s ‘P’ mintmark appears at the top of the design.
The coin’s obverse depicts the Raphael Maklouf effigy of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II and the 2010 year-date.